Orsolya Buzas, Government and International Politics, in Budapest, Hungary
Orsolya Buzas, Government and International Politics, in Budapest, Hungary

Orsolya Buzas spent a semester in Budapest, Hungary working for Insomnia Advertising Agency. She majors in Government and International Politics.

What did you like about Budapest?

It is a city like no other where Eastern Europe and the West meets. Just by going for a stroll in the city, I walked by basilicas, former homes of historic icons, and buildings marked by bullet holes reminiscent of revolutions, now occupied by quaint coffee shops and boutiques.

How did your international work experience contribute to your academic or professional career?

I left both my internship and the host school with countless advice and lessons learned from my coworkers, supervisors, and professors. I learned that good work is recognized everywhere and people see when a student/intern is driven, focused, and above all, curious. I realized that I should not limit myself to the brief description of my major because there is so much more out there.

Where else did you travel during your semester abroad?

On the weekends I had the opportunity to visit Istanbul, Turkey; Amsterdam, Netherlands; Vienna and the ski slopes of Austria; Belgrade, Serbia; Bratislava, Slovakia.

Dinner overlooking the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul
Dinner overlooking the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul

Favorite memory or memories?

  • Walking by the Parliament building every morning on my way to my internship and watching the daily flag pole ceremony.
  • Dinner overlooking the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul.
  • The farewell party thrown by my coworkers and the compliments I received from my supervisor about my work.

Why would you recommend this program to other students?

Living in such a culturally rich country that is unique to Europe for four months will set any student apart from the crowd.

Not only is it an adventure in and of itself to wake up and discover the new country everyday, but the lessons learned from the classes and the internship will forever stay with you.

Hungarian Parliament Building
Hungarian Parliament Building

Find out more about the program: Budapest Semester Internship Program

Leave a comment